Valuable advices I got from a senior software developer

Valuable advices I got from a senior software developer

·

2 min read

If you found value in this thread you will most likely enjoy my tweets too so make sure you follow me on Twitter for more information about web development and how to improve as a developer.

1. Never just copy and paste code

The code you find on the internet is not made exactly for your project/problem.

Take the time to understand that piece of code and see which part you should use in your project.

This will save you a lot of struggle in the future.

2. Know how long a task would take you to solve

As a developer, you will be asked how long a certain task will take you to finish.

How to do this?

Write somewhere how long does it took you to add a certain feature to your projects.

3. Learn how to touch type

This is a must-have skill as a developer because you'll type a lot.

Learning how to type without looking at your keyboard can reduce your neck pain and also make you more productive.

Use TypingClub to get started.

The end

The software developer that gave me these tips is my uncle.

He has been working in this field for over 10 years and I found these tips valuable

Apply these and your future self will thank you.

I hope found this useful and if you did please let me know. If you have any question feel free to DM me on Twitter .