Everything I know about outreach

Everything I know about outreach

If you found value in this thread you will most likely enjoy my tweets too so make sure you follow me on Twitter for more information about web development and how to improve as a developer.

Doing outreach is key as a freelancer

With outreach alone, I got 10 clients in the last 2 months

Here is everything I know about outreach

First thing first, what is outreach?

Outreach is the act of sending messages to people

(in our case potential clients)

So, with outreach, you close clients as a freelancer

Yes, you might need to get on a call with them, but that leads from the outreach too

There are a lot of ways you can outreach

  • Twitter DMs
  • Cold emails
  • Instagram DMs
  • And more

The most important part is choosing one of them

and STICKING WITH IT

Don't try 5 methods of doing outreach at the same time

Choose one to begin with and master it

After you choose your medium of doing outreach you need to create a script

Don't use a template you find on the internet

Why?

Because everyone is probably using it

Try to create something of your own

Here are some things to keep in mind:

  1. Start with a compliment, you are more likely to get a reply this way

  2. Keep it short, people won't read a long message especially if they don't know you

  3. Create a clear call to action, make what they need to next clear for the client

  4. Add social proof (if you have)

Now, you have a script, but who do you DM?

For my outreach, I recommend quality over quantity

So only DM specific people. People who are your ideal clients

Since I use Twitter to do my outreach I find potential clients while scrolling through my timeline

After you find the potential clients, you need to do your research

Don't skip this part

Read some of the content that person created

Click the links they have in their bio

You don't need to spend more than 15 minutes on this, but make sure you do it

Then you need to build rapport with the client

What does this mean?

You need to build a connection with them

How do you do that?

By engaging with their content

Make sure they see your face a couple of times before you DM them

Only after you do this for a few days, DM them

After you send them the DM way a few days and then FOLLOW UP

This is key and so many people don't do it

I got most of my clients after following up

Don't stop until you get a reply if it is a no

Because at the end of your day your goal is to a reply

One thing that you can do to be more likely to get a reply is to give value for free

If you do email marketing send them one email for free

Don't ask for anything back, tell them to try it out

Make it easy for them to say yes

Lastly, remember that as with everything practice makes perfect

You'll change your script with time

You'll get more and better replies with time

But that improvement only comes with practice

Aim to send one DM per day at the beginning

I hope found this useful and if you did please let me know. If you have any questions feel free to DM me on Twitter.